Early Years Foundation Stage

Play underpins our delivery of the Early Years curriculum.  Through play our children become active learners, explore and develop learning experiences which helps them to make sense of the world.

Children have the chance to explore ideas, learn how to manage feelings and resolve conflicts.  They are given space to explore and discover, to take risks and make mistakes within a safe and secure environment.  We nurture a sense of curiosity by encouraging children to ask questions, reflect and problem solve on their own and with others.

The EYFS staff create a child-focused environment which challenges, motivates and encourages learning through first-hand experiences.  To instill the way of learning we use In the Moment Planning (ITMP).  This method puts the children first and enables staff to plan the curriculum around the child’s needs and interests, while promoting the importance of the unique child.

The Early Years Foundation Stage comprises of 7 areas of learning – 3 prime and 4 specific areas.

The prime areas of learning are:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The specific areas of learning are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

All EYFS staff are responsible for, and contribute to, the assessment of learning for all children through recorded observations.  Observations are recorded on Tapestry, with links to ages and stages indicated.  Parents have access to Tapestry to monitor how their child is progressing, and are encouraged to share experiences and learning from home on it.

Download our curriculum newsletter :

The Early Years Foundation Stage is a framework for children up to the age of five, setting out seven key areas of learning around which activities should be based.